1st, 2nd and 3rd!


How Rude!!!!

How Rude!!!!

Go me, we had our annual competition at the allotments we belong to last Saturday. I got 1st place for best beetroot, 2nd and 3rd for best display of flowers, 3rd place for best dish of soft fruit, 3rd place for best joint tray of veg with The Husband. The Husband got 2nd and 3rd for best three peppers. Success for us both and a bit of fun. I made lavender biscuits (a recipe by lovely Alys Fowler) and two blackcurrant and rosemary cheesecakes, I think they were enjoyed by all. The President of the association has a dig every time I win, this year he said ‘that’s a fiddle’ as he handed me the certificate…..sad sore loser ! The heaviest rudest marrow was grown by an older allotmenteer – well done to that chap I say!

The allotment have been there for 100 years this year so the association purchased some new centenary gates. These were opened by the Mayor, he was a jolly decent chap and seemed to be interested in what we were all up to. The Mayor’s necklace is very tacky though, is it real ? Why is there a need for such a necklace ? Same as a thug with a tattoo I expect – hold on, The Husband and Son have tattoos, come to think of it so do I! LOL. Reminds me of when we went to the Mesquita in Spain and it was full of tacky gold things, such a lovely building spoilt by tack….no offence but it is vile!

The Son has purchased a VW camper van so bloody jealous, I actually screamed when I saw it! I said I would call it Dolly if it were mine, so they did. We are going to go on a road trip to France next month, should be fun and uncomfy bumpy ! ROAD TRIP – SUCH FUN !

The plot is coming along nicely, we made some cucumber and chilli jam last week, it is so set and hot it is nearly inedible – never mind at least we used up 8 of the 20 cucumbers we have! Gherkins galore still; I reckon close to 150 now. I think we have enough to keep us going until 2024! Suggested The Husband plants one plant next year instead of three! The tomatoes, chillies, beetroot, runner beans and peppers are going for it. The sweetcorn has been harvested, frozen immediately for the best freshness. I pickled some beetroot yesterday, overlooked the fact that I did not have any 1lb jar lids, so I did my usual cheat and filled a large sarsons pickling vinegar jar with it, works a treat, although I still have some to pickle because I run out of room!

Last Autumn, I gathered some flower seeds from plants I had grown from seeds. The plants are fantastic; I have some marigolds & Hour Flowers which are very good healthy plants, Also I have around five different colours of cosmos, ranging from a deep pink to stripy pink and white. They are all now coming into full bloom, some have been grown in the poly tunnel, they are twice the size of the plants outside and are just starting to bloom. The dahlia patch hasn’t done too well this year, maybe the weather. I am going to lift all of them and store them in the greenhouse. The sweet peas were ok, got quite a few bunches but they seemed to go past their best too quick & I didn’t have as many to give away. I grew a sweet pea called a ‘Tutankhamen’, the flower is about 1cm big and is actually blue, they do not last very long but they are almost cut and come again, you can be quite brutal with them which seems to give them a new lease of life.

The Husband behaved much like a demented obsessed old man (well, he is) yesterday; he erected (rude) a frame out of an old greenhouse around the asparagus bed. This involved a lot of bashing, banging, huffing, puffing and swearing, but at least the squirrels will not be able to feed on it next Spring. The Husband’s mood continued like this when we got home because there is so much to freeze and sort out at this time of year, we cant get in and just slump with a beer in front of the telly. The produce needs sorting out, grading, peeling, blanching and some freezing – shame we are both too knackered to stand and cook anything! Not really, we had a plate of proper potato chips from our own spuds last night, they were yummy, I was so full after half but there was no way I was going to share them with the dribbling dogs at my feet or The Husband – yes he was dribbling at my feet as well- for the chips not me!

Lets create!

Lets create!


2nd place

2nd place


3rd place for milk bottle display

3rd place for milk bottle display


Our tray

Our tray

DSCF2500
Peppers

Peppers

DSCF2523DSCF2540
Yankee Doodle Dahlia - grown from seed

Yankee Doodle Dahlia – grown from seed

DSCF2546

DSCF2447

Leave a Reply

